Melinda Foshat

Poetry, Prose, Photography

The Descent

1 Comment

I find my balance
Atop the mountain
Where fireweed stops growing
And skullcaps run amuck

I follow the path forgotten
Edged from fallen rocks
Laced with Juniper trimming
Uncharted, untamed

At the end, unsettled soil
A most miraculous sight
I raise my foot
Unknowingly, my last step

The vulture swoops down
Looming
Half in the air
Half on the ground

Up the mountain I must travel
But first I’ll perch here for the night
And rest my soul for its impending flight

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Melindafoshat.wordpress.com – January 19, 2015

Author: melindafoshat

Poet, dreamer, philosopher, photographer

One thought on “The Descent

  1. Stand tall ,life is about adventure

Leave a Reply

