Melinda Foshat

Poetry, Prose, Photography

Reflections On A Rainy Day

15 Comments

DSC_0388

Outside my window stands a magnificent palm tree. One of its palms reaches to my windowsill. On a rainy day, much like today, I sit by my window and watch the rain bounce on the stems and slide down the leaves. I wonder, does the rain drop jump willingly or does the leaf simply let go? Perhaps rain takes a part of the leaf with it, like how strangers who collide momentarily in each other’s lives take some sort of wisdom. If it’s wisdom rain takes, it must be the wisdom it needs to grow into a palm tree itself one day. How else can something so small grow to be so large? I hope one day I too can learn from the rain and the palm tree. For now I am thankful for the rain and for those who have fallen before me. I am thankful for the palm tree and its courage to stretch beyond limitations. And at last I am thankful for my room with a view on rainy day.

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Melindafoshat.wordpress.com – March 6, 2014

Author: melindafoshat

Poet, dreamer, philosopher, photographer

15 thoughts on “Reflections On A Rainy Day

  1. I love the ozone smell coming off the asphalt on a hot day of rain.

  2. I like this. Calming words, I can picture being there watching the drops:)

  3. Lovely post. Thanks for the visit to my blog ! Happy weekend.

  4. So glad you liked my post. Because it led me to this, your writing is delicious.

  5. Pingback: johndwmacdonald

  6. I also love rainy days. A tranquil piece. May I reblog to “Tales of Unwise Paths?”

  7. Hello Melinda, thank you for your visit, I’m so glad to discover you and your space. Reading this post brings a smile on my face – you’d be amazed to know I feel you’re seeing through my heart right now and poured out my reflections as I look longingly out of my very own (blue) room with a view watching the rain sliding down the palm leaves hovering close to the windowsill…and a little lily pond where the raindrops are making tiny ephemeral rings…and I’m witnessing pretty much the same thoughts on growth and wisdom rising inside me with a tinge of nostalgia…

  8. Thank you for visiting my blog and I enjoyed yours. Rainy days are good for introspection.

Leave a Reply

