Melinda Foshat

Poetry, Prose, Photography

To the Lovers

6 Comments

I buried my grasp on reality
Beneath the webbing of your tangled hair
For fear of letting it go while holding you near

The embers in your eyes set my sights on fire
Your breath fills my lungs
I go up in flames
Rising toward the burning heavens

I am lost in the realm of your love
Still, your burdens weigh you down

Lose yourself and come find me

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Melindafoshat.wordpress.com – December 30, 2013

Author: melindafoshat

Poet, dreamer, philosopher, photographer

6 thoughts on “To the Lovers

  1. Melinda,

    Don’t know much about poetry (or geography). So this is just personal. I like this, but for me, the line “The embers in your eyes set my sights on fire” was just a little too much. I liked it better, reading the poem without that line. It captured the feeling more. I particularly like the lines, “Still your burdens weigh you down. Lose yourself and come find me.” Nice.

  2. I like this part –

    “I am lost in the realm of your love
    Still, your burdens weigh you down”

    It’s lovely! Happy (almost) new year!

  3. Welcome back, Miss Foshat 🙂

  4. Beautifully penned with lovely emotion.

  5. [ Smiles ] That is a rather nice poem.

  6. Lovely. I know this feeling so well!

Leave a Reply

