Melinda Foshat

Poetry, Prose, Photography

The Power of a Photo

1 Comment

In a few short weeks I will be moving to Florida to work as a photographer. This new chapter of my life has inspired me to reflect on my love of photography. As an artist, I always search for the deeper meaning in everything. I always believe there are two sides to every angle: one that is well known and one which is often hidden from the world. In the past, when taking photographs, I would often move a rock or leaf to give my picture an edge or a certain look. However, recently, I have enjoyed the challenge of changing nothing and instead working with exactly what I am given.  Since adopting this approach, I have yet to move any object in my photographs because doing so would only manipulate the truth and undermine my attempt to reveal such obvious truths which remain invisible to the conventional eye.

It is my mission to share my photographs while developing my own unique perspective of the world and myself.  I have always believed the real beauty of the photograph lies not in the final product or what the photo depicts, but rather in the act of taking the photo. The photograph itself will always be a piece of paper but the process of looking through the lens of the camera and capturing a small glimpse of life is somewhat miraculous and divine.  Photos have the power to move and make change in other peoples’ lives but when you take a photograph you are making change in your own vision and empowering yourself.

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Melindafoshat.wordpress.com – April 29, 2013

Author: melindafoshat

Poet, dreamer, philosopher, photographer

One thought on “The Power of a Photo

  1. You said this much better than I ever have, but that is how I view photography. It is my interaction with what is waiting for discovery. I wrote not so good poetry for a number of years, essentially quitting (writing) poetry for photography.

Leave a Reply

