Melinda Foshat

Poetry, Prose, Photography

Love’s Impaling Loss

9 Comments

I.

Late at night I lie awake, cursing the abandoned air,
Pleading to your soul from long ago whose absence too hard to bear.
What is loneliness if it is not my only friend?
Surely, loneliness is more faithful than you.
Still, she cannot give death to me nor she your going undo.
So for now, just one night more, I’ll wait for the return of your departure,
‘Til tomorrow night, I find courage to say,
“I don’t want to lie awake a moment longer.”

II.

You said you loved me––you lied.
You kissed me to steal the pain from my eyes––you tried.
You hugged me and I felt the coldness of your heart
As you bid your goodbye and took your depart.
If only––
You said you despised me––the truth.
You stabbed me to give the pain in my eyes––tears are proof.
You smiled and I felt the warmth of your fiery core
As you stayed to watch my blood hit the floor.

© Copyright – All rights reserved – Melindafoshat.wordpress.com – February 14, 2013

Author: melindafoshat

Poet, dreamer, philosopher, photographer

9 thoughts on “Love’s Impaling Loss

  1. Very powerful! Love it! 🙂

  2. This feels so real, it’s almost frightening lol. I’m just hoping it was not inspired by your personal life.

  3. Oh – terribly passionate/sad. k.

  4. Very well done!

  5. Simply beautiful…
    Felicia

  6. Your poetry is beautiful, Melinda. You are an exquisitely sensitive soul.

Leave a Reply

